A Bronx Tale 27/01/2017

This is a Bronx Tale, you know the story…

One of the key aspects of A Bronx Tale by Chazz Palminteri is gender, more specifically masculinity in the Italian-American society.  These gangsters were role models in society for young boys, as they lived their lives with honor.  In the film version, directed by and starring Robert De Niro, the young boy, Calogero is torn between the two male role models of his father and Sonny who are both trying to teach him how to ‘be a man’.

vsco-photo-4.jpg

‘Sonny and my father always said that when I get older I would understand.  Well, I finally did.  I learned something from these two men.  I learned to give love and get love unconditionally.  You just have to accept people for what they are, and I learned the greatest gift of all.  The saddest thing in life is wasted talent, and the choices that you make will shape your life forever.  You can ask anybody from my neighbourhood, and they’ll just tell you this is just another Bronx tale.’

Having said that, one must understand that the idea of masculinity to an Italian American in the 60s may be different to what you know.  In the film, the male characters talk about their feelings and Sonny tells Calogero ‘You gotta do what your heart tells you to do’.  Personally, I believe that men should be able to cry or talk about their feelings, sing or dance without being any less masculine.

a bronx tale

It is not the first time that an overtly masculine story/film has been made into a musical for broadway (Jersey Boys or West Side Story anyone?) however, there is still the overwhelming stereotype of broadway shows, especially musicals, being too feminine for the heterosexual male to enjoy.  You may take my opinion with a grain of salt as I am female however I believe (and many of my male friends agree) that A Bronx Tale remains a very masculine story.

love movies 1990s relationship 1993

I feel that the film and the musical portrayed masculinity in a very similar way, where in the movie Calogero had a voice over to express his thoughts and feelings and in the musical, the characters would sing.  The main story, character’s actions and ideals and the main themes remain intact with the transition to Broadway.

 

vsco-photo-3 (3).jpg
Sonny- Nick Cordero

 

vsco-photo-2 (5).jpg
Lorenzo- Richard H. Blake

 

vsco-photo-1 (5).jpg
I MET CHAZZ PALMINTERI!!!!!

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment